Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

2011 South American Champs

2011 South American Volleyball Championship 30-1

As expected, Brazil won again!

Brazil pretty much dominated the 29th edition of the South American Championship without losing a match and by defeating Facundo Conte and Argentina in the gold medal match. Brazil has won the crown a staggering 28 times out of 29. The only time they didn’t compete was in 1964 due to a political turmoil in the country. This also means that the only time Argentina won the crown was 37 years ago.

Below is the complete list of match results:

Final Standings:

Gold:  Brazil

Silver: Argentina

Bronze: Venezuela

4th: Colombia

5th: Chila

6th: Paraguay

7th: Uruguay

In case you didn’t know, Brazil and Argentina will represent South America at the 2011 FIVB World Cup which takes place in November with Japan as the host. The World Cup is the first 2012 Olympic Qualifying Tournament with berths given to the top 3 teams.

2011 South American Championship Best Players:

MVP:  Sérgio Santos

Best Spiker:  Dante Amaral

Best Blocker:  Sebastian Sole

Best Server:  Kervin Pinerua

Best Digger:  Sérgio Santos

Best Setter:  Luciano De Cecco

Best Receiver:  Sérgio Santos

Best Libero:  Sérgio Santos

Of course we got some MORE PICS for you!

Check them out below…

We’d like to take this opportunity to give SIDAO a special shout out because he truly deserves it after playing as one of the starting Middle Blockers together with Lucas. No doubt his girlfriend Dani Lins is extremely happy for him.

He’s such a talented player!

Since they don’t really get a lot of international exposure, check out pics of the other teams that competed. Playing against Brazil and Argentina have allowed Venezuela, Colombia, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay to gain valuable experience for the future.

Keep training and working hard BBs!

Finally, the part you’ve been waiting and wanting for.

The FULL VIDEO of the Gold Medal Match.

Lights! Cameras! Action!

We’d like to thank the Brazilian City of Cuiabá, Brazil for hosting the tournament from September 19th to 25th, 2011 and of course for the PICS.

See ya in 2 yrs!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>