UAAP Volleyball Recap

UAAP Volleyball Season 74 by Reymoncito A.

As the countdown begins of the Philippine version of “Superliga”, let’s have a quick recap on what happened in the recently concluded University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Women’s Volleyball Competition.
With the departures of Aiza Maizo (UST), Best Scorer and Best Receiver UAAP season 73 and Jacq Alarca (DLSU) UAAP season 73 MVP. Season 74 has the arrival of Alyssa Valdez (ADMU) and the rookies of other participating schools.

de la salle womens volleyball UAAP Volleyball Recap

De La Salle Lady Spikers sweeps the 1st round with 7 wins and 0 loss while Ateneo De Manila Lady Eagles finishes second with 6 and 1 cards. Moving on the next round, Last years finalists UST Lady Tigresses gave Ateneo Lady Eagles their 2nd loss card as UST, FEU and Adamson are combating to secure a Final 4 berth. With all other teams, La Salle is playing consistently and bringing A game and swept the whole season.

Step Ladder Format.

The Final Four for Season 74:

Far Eastern University (4), University of Sto. Tomas (3), Ateneo (2) and La Salle (1). As a token for a 14-0 cards La Salle earned thrice to beat advantage and 1 game lead on the Championship, while Ateneo has twice to beat advantage. FEU faces UST, UST Tigresses roaring past Lady Tamaraws. And now, UST battles Ateneo for Semis survival. Tigresses reception was really out-of-sync and Lady Eagles gave the Espanya based spiker a hard time to run their plays. Ateneo marches on to the Finals for the first time.

Championship Round:

Game 1, with La Salle having 1-0 lead over Ateneo, Valdez and Gervacio took advantage of La Salle’s shakey reception to tie the series 1-1. Game 2 is a game face on for the defending Champions, scrappy reception to a flawless passing that gave the Lady Spikers 2-1 lead an inch closer of getting the Championships. Game 3, La Salle outsmarted and outworked Lady Eagles to bag the 7th Championship under Coach Ramil de Jesus.

Best Player Awardees:

Best Scorer – Rosemarie Vargas (FEU)

Rosemarie Vargas 199x300 UAAP Volleyball Recap

Best Spiker – Maika Ortiz (UST)

Maika Ortiz 200x300 UAAP Volleyball Recap

Best Blocker – Michelle Gumabao (DLSU)

Michelle Gumabao 184x300 UAAP Volleyball Recap

Best Setter – Gyzelle Sy (FEU)

Gyzelle Sy 200x300 UAAP Volleyball Recap

Best Receiver – Angelica Vasques (Adamson)

Angelica Vasques 300x200 UAAP Volleyball Recap

Best Server & Rookie Of The Year: Victonara Galang (DLSU)

Victonara Galang 200x300 UAAP Volleyball Recap

Most Valuable Player – Abigail Marano (DLSU)

Abigail Marano 200x300 UAAP Volleyball Recap

Finals Most Valuable Player – Charleen Cruz (DLSU)

Charleen Cruz 210x300 UAAP Volleyball Recap

Click HERE to watch some videos.

Click HERE for the Full Recap of the 2011/2012 UAAP Volleyball League, including the full results of the men’s and women’s league.


It’s great to know that volleyball is growing popularity in the Philippines!


(Disclaimer: No copyright violation intended for the images used in this post.)

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. keanu ricafrente says:

    kelan po last round ng ateneo vs. ust ?? i need to support my school ?? :P P

Leave a Comment